Liking a video is a quick way to let a video creator know that you enjoy their work. If you're signed in, liking a video will add it to your "Liked videos" playlist, which is private.
If you’re not the biggest fan of a long-form video or livestream, disliking is one way to show your opinion. Keep in mind that if you want to report inappropriate content, you should report the video instead.
Like or dislike videos
To like a video, use thumbs up under the video player or tap the Heart
for Shorts. To dislike a long-form video or livestream, use thumbs down
. To undo your choice, simply select the icon again. Note: This update is gradually rolling out to all users.
Hearts on comments
If you leave a comment on the Posts tab or the watch page, creators can use a heart to show appreciation for your comment.
When a creator uses a heart on your comment, you'll know in two ways:
- On your comment, you'll see the creator's avatar with a small heart
.
- You'll get a notification (depending on your opt-in settings for computer and mobile) that a channel owner "loves your comment."
View your liked videos
When you like a video, it's automatically added to a playlist so you can easily revisit all your liked videos. Here's how to see videos you've liked:
- Sign in to YouTube
.
- Tap your profile picture
at the bottom of the screen.
- Go to Playlists.
- Tap Liked videos
.
Remove liked videos
You can remove "likes" from videos and manage your Liked videos playlist.
- Tap your profile picture
at the bottom of the screen.
- Go to Playlists.
- Select the Liked videos
playlist.
- Tap More
next to the video you'd like to remove.
- Select Remove from Liked videos
.