Once you’ve set up your Community, there are additional features to help you and your moderators manage it. You can control who posts in your Community and hold posts for review before they’re published. If you’ve set up blocked words or links for comments, those same words and links will be blocked for posts in your Community. If at any point you don’t want your Community to be visible anymore, you can turn it off.
HOW TO: Use Community Moderation Settings in YouTube Studio Mobile
Add a Community moderator
You can invite users to help manage comments on your content and posts in your Community. Anyone with a YouTube channel can be a moderator. On a mobile device, you can add a moderator directly from their post.
- Go to the post.
- In the top-right corner, tap More
to view options.
- Tap Add as moderator.
- Select Managing moderator or Standard moderator.
- Managing moderators can add and remove standard moderators, manage blocked words, hide users, and move posts to hold for your review.
- Standard moderators can hide users and move posts to hold for your review.
The moderator will get a notification that you’ve added them and will be identified with a badge on their profile. To remove a moderator, tap Remove as moderator from the three-dot menu.
Manage who can post to your Community
Choose a minimum subscribe time
You can choose how long someone will need to be subscribed to your channel before posting in your Community.
- In the YouTube app, go to your channel page.
- Tap Visit Community.
- Tap Community settings
Who can post
.
- In the dropdown, select a minimum subscribe time.
Hide users
If you don’t want a certain subscriber to post in your Community, you can hide them.
- In the YouTube app, go to their channel page.
- In the upper-right corner, tap More
.
- Tap Hide user from my channel.
Add approved users
You can allow a subscriber to post in your Community without review by adding them as an approved user.
- Go to the post.
- In the top-right corner, tap More
to view options.
- Tap Add as approved user.
To remove an approved user, tap Remove as approved user from the three-dot menu.
Hold Community posts for review
You can choose whether you want to hold posts for review before they’re published in your Community. Learn how to hold posts for review on YouTube Studio.
The settings you can choose from are:
- None: Don’t hold any viewer posts.
- Basic: Hold potentially inappropriate posts.
- Hold all: Hold all viewer posts.
Manage unwanted posts in your Community
To moderate unwanted posts, you can remove, report, or mark the post as “Not Interested.”
- In the YouTube app, go to your channel page.
- Tap Visit Community.
- Go to the post.
- In the top-right corner, tap More
to view options.
- Tap Remove to remove the post from your Community. For moderators, tap Hold in Studio to remove and send the post to YouTube Studio for review. Only the post author will be able to see the post.
- Tap Report to report a post that violates our Community Guidelines. Learn more about reporting content.
- Tap Not Interested to remove the post from your view. Other members of your Community can still see the post. Learn more about marking content as “Not Interested.”