Edit

Enable and manage soft delete for containers

Container soft delete protects your data from being accidentally or erroneously modified or deleted. When you enable container soft delete for a storage account, you can recover a deleted container and its contents within a retention period that you specify. For more details about container soft delete, see Soft delete for containers.

For end-to-end data protection, Microsoft recommends that you also enable soft delete for blobs and blob versioning. To learn how to enable soft delete for blobs, see Enable and manage soft delete for blobs. To learn how to enable blob versioning, see Blob versioning.

Enable container soft delete

You can enable or disable container soft delete for the storage account at any time by using Azure built-in policy, Azure portal, PowerShell, Azure CLI, or an Azure Resource Manager template. Microsoft recommends setting the retention period for container soft delete to a minimum of seven days.

To enable blob and container soft delete at scale via Azure built-in policy, reference Configure soft delete for blobs and containers on storage accounts.

To enable container soft delete for your storage account by using Azure portal, follow these steps:

  1. In the Azure portal, navigate to your storage account.

  2. Locate the Data protection settings under Data management.

  3. Select Enable soft delete for containers.

  4. Specify a retention period between 1 and 365 days.

  5. Save your changes.

    Screenshot of how to enable container soft delete in the Azure portal.

View soft-deleted containers

When you enable soft delete, you can view soft-deleted containers in the Azure portal. Soft-deleted containers are visible during the specified retention period. After the retention period expires, a soft-deleted container is permanently deleted and is no longer visible.

To view soft-deleted containers in the Azure portal, follow these steps:

  1. Go to your storage account in the Azure portal and view the list of your containers.

  2. Toggle the Show deleted containers switch to include deleted containers in the list.

    Screenshot showing how to view soft-deleted containers in the Azure portal.

Restore a soft-deleted container

You can restore a soft-deleted container and its contents within the retention period. To restore a soft-deleted container in the Azure portal, follow these steps:

  1. Go to your storage account in the Azure portal and view the list of your containers.

  2. Open the context menu for the container you want to restore, and select Undelete.

    Screenshot of how to restore a soft-deleted container in the Azure portal.

Next steps