You can restore recently deleted photos and videos that are still in your trash. Items that are permanently deleted can’t be restored.
If you’re missing photos and videos, check your trash. Photos and videos in the trash are permanently deleted after 30 days. Learn how to turn on backup.
Check your archive
If your missing item is archived, you can unarchive it so it shows in your Google Photos library.
Learn how to check your archive and unarchive items.
Check your trash
Important: This article details the current retention policy. This is also in the latest version of Google Photos app.
If your missing photo or video is in your trash, you may restore it.
If your missing photo or video isn't in your trash, it may be permanently deleted. Learn more about deleted photos and videos.
Restore photos & videos
Important: You can only restore photos and videos if they’re still in your trash.
- On your computer, go to photos.google.com/login.
- On the left, click Trash
.
- Place your cursor over the photo or video that you want to restore.
- Click Select
.
- If the photo or video isn’t in your trash, it may be permanently deleted.
- At the top right, click Restore
Restore. Your photo or video will be back in:
- Albums that it was in
- Google Photos Account
Check if you can restore deleted photos & videos
Important: If you're inactive in Google Photos for 2 years or more, your content may be deleted. Learn about the Google Photos inactivity policy.
You can restore deleted photos and videos, if:
- You moved it to Trash less than 30 days ago.
- You moved it to Trash and haven't emptied Trash.
- You haven't permanently deleted it from Trash.